Chicago Cubs: Comparing every Cubs Cy Young season

(Photo by Photo File/MLB Photos via Getty Images)
(Photo by Photo File/MLB Photos via Getty Images) /
3 of 6
Chicago Cubs
(Photo by Ronald C. Modra/Getty Images) /

Chicago Cubs: One of the first great relievers the Cubs had won the Cy Young Award the same decade Jenkins did

Bruce Sutter is the only reliever in Cubs history to win a Cy Young. In his five years as a Cub, he racked up 133 saves and a 2.39 ERA. Sutter was the master of the split-finger fastball and he was able to use that pitch to earn a spot in Cooperstown.

In 1979, Sutter became the third reliever in history to win the Cy Young. That year he pitched to a 2.22 ERA, 0.98 WHIP, 1.89 FIP, 9.77 K/9 and 4.8 fWAR in 101 1/3 innings pitched. Sutter led baseball in saves (37) and FIP among qualifying relievers. He only surrendered three home runs all year, as it was tough to get that splitter in the air and drive. Though, Ryne Sandberg would disagree.

It is hard to compare Sutter in 1979 to other starting pitchers, or any other modern relievers for that matter. Back then, the bullpen was utilized somewhat differently, and Sutter would pitch multiple innings, unlike the modern closer typically would. While not comparable to the other Cy Young winners who were all starters, Sutter has his own unique place in Cubs history.