BBWAA elects four to Hall of Fame; most since 1955


Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio were elected by the writers to the Hall of Fame, the most since they voted in four in 1955.

In what most consider the “live ball” era, three pitchers and a player not known to be an offensive powerhouse make the cut to join the Hall.

Biggio, who fell two votes short last season, received 42 more than needed for the 75% needed. In 20 season, Biggio collected 3,060 hits, all with the Houston Astros. He also has the distinction of being No. 2 on the list of hit by pitch leaders with 285, two short of the record held by Hughie Jennings – another Hall of Famer.

More from Chicago Cubs News

Martinez received 91.1% of the vote, appearing on 500 ballots. The three-time Cy Young Award winner went 219-100, led the league in ERA five times, struck out 3,154 batters, and most notably helped guide the Red Sox to the 2004 World Series title, their first in 86 years.

Receiving 82.9% of the vote, Smoltz will join Atlanta teammates Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine who were inducted last summer along with slugger Frank Thomas. He was the 1996 Cy Young Award winner, and finished with a record 213-155, to go along with 154 saves, the only pitcher with the distinction of 200 wins and 150 saves. He also posted a career 15-4 in the playoffs.

Johnson received the eighth-highest vote total, receiving 97.3%, appearing on all but 15 ballots. His 22-year career led him to 303 victories and 4,875 strikeouts. He also threw 100 complete games in his career on his way to five Cy Young Awards.

Mike Piazza fell 28 votes short but increased his percentage to 69.9 from 57.8 in 2013, and 62.2 last year. Others within striking distance include Jeff Bagwell (55.7%), Tim Raines (55%) and Curt Schilling (39.2%). Notables included Lee Smith (30.2%), Edgar Martinez (27%), Alan Trammell (25.1%) and Mike Mussina (24.6%).

While the IBWAA’s vote was more forgiving to those from the “steroid era”, the BBWAA was not. Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa were all far from being close to inducted. Clemens received 37.5%, while Bonds drew 36.8%. McGwire, in his next-to-last year of eligibility, received only 10%. Sosa got only 6.6%, but enough to remain on the ballot next season.

Next: IBWAA votes in five for 2015 Hall of Fame