Darwin Barney, Anthony Rizzo shut out in Gold Gloves


There was no repeat for Chicago Cubs’ second baseman Darwin Barney.

Cincinnati Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips reclaimed the Rawlings Gold Glove Award in the National League, Barney had won in 2012. Phillips state he felt “Punk’d” when Barney won the award last year.

Barney and Cubs first baseman Anthony Rizzo were shut out Rawlings announced the Gold Glove winners (top defensive honor) during Tuesday night’s ESPN2 special.

Mandatory Credit: Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

Phillips captured his fourth award in six seasons, beating out Barney and Los Angeles Dodgers second baseman Mark Ellis. Barney led the NL with a .993 fielding percentage (four errors in 603 total chances) and ranked seventh in Ultimate Zone Rating with 12.5.

Phillips finished with a .987 fielding percentage (nine errors in 715 total chances) and second in UZR with an 8.6 rating.

Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt won his first Gold Glove over Rizzo and Dodgers star Adrian Gonzalez. Rizzo and Goldschmidt tied for second in NL in fielding percentage (.997) behind Colorado Rockies’ Todd Helton, and Rizzo led the NL in UZR with a .902 rating.

Derrek Lee was the last Cubs first baseman to win a Gold Glove in 2007 and the North Siders have not had multiple winners since 2005, when Lee and pitcher Greg Madduz both took home the honors.

This year, Rawlings collaborated with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) to provide ballot voters (managers and coaches) additional statistics to incorporate sabermatrics into the award.

For more Chicago Cubs conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @CubbiesCrib and Like our Facebook page at Cubbies Crib.